Melbourne Independent Filmmakers Festival Winners
(released 9/23/2013)

The Melbourne Independent Filmmakers Festival took place at the Premiere Theaters Oaks Stadium on September 6th and 7th.  The festival is produced by Terry Cronin of 3 Boys Productions along with support from A Cut Above Video.

Learn more about 3 Boys Productions at

Here is the list of award recipients from the 2013 festival.

Best Animation - The Chase: A Silly Storm Safari directed by Chris Kridler
Best Action/Adventure - Fiend Fatale directed by Steven Shea
Best Cinematography - Aishiteru directed by Mikhail Howell
Best Comedy - The Dock Show directed by Lear Bunda
Best Documentary - MILIUS directed by Joey Figueroa & Zak Knutson
Best Dramatic Short - The Absence directed by Alex Demille
Best Horror Feature - Rockabilly Zombie Weekend directed by Jaime Velez-Soto
Best Horror Short - Creepy Crawly directed by Jason Daly & Robert Massetti
Best Musical Score - The Florida Suite directed by Jeff Thompson
Producers of Merit Award - Randy Molnar & Melissa Gruver
Rising Star Award (Male) - Jayvo Scott
Rising Star Award (Female) - Amber Sym

Best Singer Award (MIFF Special Guest) - Dana Snyder
Best Dressed Award (MIFF Special Guest) - Andy Sipes
Best Action Hero Award (MIFF Special Guest) - Joel D. Wynkoop

MIFF Recognition Award: Robert Cairns, A Cut Above Video volunteer
MIFF Recognition Award: Nicole Machon, MIFF 2013 intern

The Space Coast Film Commission Best Florida Short - Killer Kart directed by James Feeney
The Florida Beer People's Choice Award: Betrayal Square directed by Paulette King
The Kelly's Hard Cider Crystal Apple Award (Director's Choice): The Guy Who Knows Everything directed by Joops Fragale

The Robert W. Kurrus, Jr. Memorial Humanitarian Filmmaker Award - MILIUS directed by Joey Figueroa & Zak Knutson

Print this article