2007 Student Academy Award Winners
(released 6/18/2007)

Eleven students from six colleges and universities were honored tonight (June 9) as winners in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' 34th Annual Student Academy Awards® competition. For several days, they had participated in a slate of industry-related activities and social events culminating in the awards ceremony, which featured actress Zooey Deschanel, director John Landis, and Academy President Sid Ganis as presenters, at the Academy's Samuel Goldwyn Theater. A student from Germany received this year's Honorary Foreign Film Award.

The winners are:

Gold Medal: "Fission," Kun-I Chang, School of Visual Arts, New York * Only the gold medal was awarded in the Alternative category.

Gold Medal (tie): "Art's Desire," Sarah Wickliffe, New York University and "Mirage," Youngwoong Jang, School of Visual Arts, New York
Bronze Medal: "A Leg Up," Bevin Carnes, Ringling College of Art and Design, Sarasota, Florida

Gold Medal: "Cross Your Eyes Keep Them Wide," Ben Wu, Stanford University
Silver Medal: "Ladies of the Land," Megan Thompson, New York University
Bronze Medal: "Lumo," Bent-Jorgen S. Perlmutt and Nelson Walker III, Columbia University

Gold Medal: "Rundown," Patrick Alexander, Florida State University
Silver Medal: "High Maintenance," Phillip Van, New York University
Bronze Medal: "Screening," Anthony Green, New York University

Honorary Foreign Film
"Nevermore," Toke Constantin Hebbeln, Filmakademie Baden-Wuerttemberg, Germany

While the U.S. winners knew they would each receive an award, the level of that award – Gold, Silver or Bronze – was not revealed until the ceremony. Besides trophies, Gold Medal recipients received $5,000, Silver Medal recipients were awarded $3,000 and Bronze Medal recipients were awarded $2,000. The Honorary Foreign Film winner received $1,000 in addition to the trophy.

Print this article