Two FL Student Filmmakers Are Academy Winners
(released 6/8/2007)

Eleven students from six colleges and universities have been named winners in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' 34th Annual Student Academy Awards® competition. Two of the student filmmakers are representing Florida schools: Bevin Carnes from the Ringling College of Art and Design in Sarasota and Patrick Alexander from FSU. The winners are:

"Fission," Kun-I Chang, School of Visual Arts, New York

"Art's Desire," Sarah Wickliffe, New York University
"A Leg Up," Bevin Carnes, Ringling College of Art and Design, Sarasota, Florida
"Mirage," Youngwoong Jang, School of Visual Arts, New York

"Cross Your Eyes Keep Them Wide," Ben Wu, Stanford University
"Ladies of the Land," Megan Thompson, New York University
"Lumo," Bent-Jorgen S. Perlmutt and Nelson Walker, III, Columbia University

"High Maintenance," Phillip Van, New York University
"Rundown," Patrick Alexander, Florida State University
"Screening," Anthony Green, New York University

Honorary Foreign Film
"Nevermore," Toke Constantin Hebbeln, Filmakademie Baden-Wuerttemberg, Germany

While the U.S. winners know they will each receive an award, the level of that award – Gold, Silver or Bronze – will not be revealed until the June 9 ceremony. Only Chang, the sole recipient in the Alternative category and therefore an automatic Gold Medal award winner and Hebbeln will attend the ceremony knowing exactly what they have won. Besides trophies, Gold Medal recipients receive $5,000, Silver Medal recipients are awarded $3,000 and Bronze Medal recipients are awarded $2,000. The Honorary Foreign Film winner receives $1,000 in addition to the trophy.

The U.S. student first competed in one of three regional competitions. Each of those regions was permitted to send as many as three finalists in each of the four award categories. Academy members then screened the finalists' films and voted to select the winners.

"Nevermore," the Honorary Foreign Film winner was selected from a record pool of 49 submissions from 33 countries.

The ceremony will be held on Saturday, June 9, at 6 p.m. at the Academy's Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

Print this article