MegaCon Indie Film Expo Set For Feb 16
(released 1/31/2007)

The Megacon Indie Film Expo will showcase independent films in the genres of animation, anime, comedy, comic-related, fan films, fantasy, horror, and sci-fi. It is hosted by 3 Boys Productions, the founders of the Melbourne Independent Filmmakers Festival and publishers of the horror-adventure comic, Students of the Unusual.  The film expo will be held on Friday, February 16th at the Orange County Convention Center.

The films for this program are selected by 3 Boys Productions and donations will be collected to benefit the Hero Initiative. The Hero Initiative (Formerly known as A.C.T.O.R., A Commitment To Our Roots) is the first-ever federally chartered not-for-profit corporation dedicated strictly to helping comic book creators in need.

Films selected for exposition include several award-winners and cutting-edge genre and fan films. 2007 Selections include:

9 seconds
Directed by George Tramountanas

Akira the Fan Film
Directed by Juan Avilez

Behind the Undead Music
Directed by John Taddeo

Born of Hope (A Lord of the Rings Fan Film)
Directed by Kate Robinson

Catwoman The Diamond Exchange
Directed by Chris Notarile 

Directed by Steven Shea

Directed by Rick Porven

Ninjas Vs. Pirates
Directed by John Theisen

Directed by Anthony Cothron

Post Mortem
directed by Jen Soemantri

Directed by Katharine Leis

Tattoo Love Magic
Directed by Rick Porven

The Faeries of BlackHeath Woods
Directed by Ciaran Foy

The Green Hornet
Directed by Aurelien Poitrimoult

The Love Craft
Directed by Eric Morgret

Utter Chaos
Directed by Kendall Bruns & Josh Flowers
Zombie Moonshine Madness (Preview-only)
Directed by Pat Martin
3 Boys Productions will also host a panel of filmmakers to discuss "Independent Filmmaking" as part of this year's Megacon educational seminars and will be promoting their horror adventure series "Students of the Unusual"

Megacon will also have plenty of film and TV stars including some of the following:

Sean Astin (Lord of the Rings, 24, Rudy)
Mary McDonnell (Battlestar Galactica)
Jamie Bamber (Battlestar Galactica)
Kevin Sorbo (Hercules)
Efren Ramirez ('Pedro' from Napolean Dynamite)
David Hedison (Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea)
Lloyd Kaufman (Toxic Avenger)
Michael Winslow (Police Academy)
Lou Ferrigno (The Incredible Hulk)
Margot Kidder (Superman)

For more info, check out this website:

Print this article