Orlando Film Fest Award Winners
(released 10/20/2013)

The Orlando Film Festival, held in the heart of downtown Orlando, continues through today.  The four day festival held its public awards ceremony last night on stage in the courtyard of The Plaza building.  The Plaza also holds the Cobb Cinema Plaza Cafe up on the second floor, home to all of the film screenings.

The awards ceremony ran a little behind schedule, but the crowd was entertained by a two piece band led by David Schweizer.  He composed the score for Bad Chicken, which screened at the festival.

Dan Springen, a local filmmaker and the executive director of the festival, was the host and award presenter along with Holly Morgan, member of the festival advisory board.  Most of the categories were introduced by Springen with excerpts of the films on two screens that framed the stage.

The winners of the 2013 Orlando Film Festival are as follows:

Best Student Short - Pauline in a Beautiful World directed by William Thompson

Best Foreign Language Short - Who's Afraid of the Big Black Wolf? directed by Janez Lapajne

Best Doc Short - Rhythm Club Fire directed by Bryan Burch

Best Animated Short - Light Me Up directed by Ryan Walton

Most Outrageous - Just Pull It directed by Aaron Carman

Best Short - Moses on the Mesa directed by Paul Ratner

Best Feature Doc - Antarctica: A Year on Ice directed by Anthony Powell

Best Foreign Language Feature - Salt (Sal) directed by Diego Rougier

Most Inspirational - Ride with Larry directed by Andrew Rubin & Ricardo Villareal

Best Screenplay - Aaron J. Wiederspahn for Only Daughter

Best Cinematography - Aayna Ka Bayna directed by Samit Kakkad

Fireball Run Social Awareness - William T. Still for Jekyll Island

I Am Eco Warrior Award - Within Reach directed by Ryan Mlynarczyk

Best Ensemble Cast - Eat Spirit Eat

Best Performance - Emily Seymour in Only Daughter

Best Director - Norry Nevin for Chasing Shakespeare

Best Picture - Chasing Shakespeare directed by Norry Nevin

Indie Spirit Award - Chastity Bites directed by John V. Knowles

Print this article